The BESTT team is comprised of experienced and motivated individuals and networks, with all the required capabilities and track record for the successful delivery of project objectives. The team is backed by AU (Athabasca University), and AWSN and championed by one of AWSN’s most experienced directors but also consists of its own individual advisory board, various working groups, a mentor volunteer committee and a project coordinator in both the Calgary and  Edmonton communities.

BESTT Advisory Board Members (and Mentors)

Gail Powley, P. Eng
Vice President, Willowglen Systems Inc; Vice President CHOA;
Chair Women in APEGA

Dr. Lisa Carter
Dean, Faculty of Science and Technology,
Athabasca University

Dr. Shoma Sinha
Research Scientist, Quantiam Technologies Inc;
President AWSN

Lori Farley
CEO, Umewe Projects & Consulting;
CCAT Program Manager

Dr. Heather Kaminsky, P.Eng
Researcher Suncor, COSIA Member

Jeff La Franz
Entrepreneur, Vizworx

Dr. Sharon Barker
Johnson & Johnson

Wayne Karpoff
President, Willowglen Systems; Board Member TEC Edmonton;
Board Member Technology Alberta

Dr. Wendy Hutchins
Exec Director, AWSN

Yan Qi
Vice President, Microlyne

Shauna Rae, P.Eng
Strategic Advisor, National Instruments

Hilary Rose
Consultant, Peace Hills Trust

Claudia Sammers
CEO, Cool Companies

Debra Greig
CEO, Shirwin Technologies


Dr. Jean Springer
Past President, AWSN/Professor Emeritus Mathematics Mount Royal University

BESTT Mentors

Bio Technology: Reg Joseph
CEO, Metabolomics

Environmental: Scott Barnes
Senior Environmental Scientist, Bearspaw Environmental

Professional: Rajesh Jaiswal
Manager, Edmonton Economic Development

Engineering: Bruce Peachy
CEO, New Paradigm Engineering Ltd.

BESTT Supporters


Athabasca University

Willowglen Systems


Quantiam Technologies

Bearspaw Environmental


Innovate Calgary

TEC Edmonton

Co-Op Communications



MEG Energy


Hazeldean Bakery